The Galapagos Islands are located at the Equator 1,000km or 600 nautical miles off the Ecuadorian coast in South America. They consist of 61 islands and islets, with 13 main islands. The total land area is 7,882 square kilometers within a marine reserve of 45,000 square kilometers. The 13 main islands are Baltra, Española, Fernandina, Floreana, Genovesa, Isabela, Marchena, Pinta, Pinzon, San Cristobal, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, and Santiago.
The Galapagos sprouted out of the Pacific from a sub oceanic lava vent on the ocean floor. The same process created the Hawaiian Islands, and nowadays this process continues in both island groups.
Geologically these Islands are situated on one of the most active volcanic regions on earth: the Nazca Plate. Geographically, even though they are in the tropics, the islands are fortunate, since, they are not in the path of big storms or other natural phenomena.
Traveling to the Galapagos Islands is a way to step back in time, visiting a quiet, untouched place on earth. This paradise is the ideal place for those who want to be in a pure and natural habitat, enjoying natural history and wildlife.